Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rejected a Job Offer in Auckland

Default Rejected a Job Offer in Auckland

Had a job offer in Auckland but unfortunately the base renumeration did not meet my minimum expectation and I rejected it.

Fate has it that Auckland and I are not meant for each other.. for the time being. Maybe later.

I am a permanent resident of Australia.

sorry, that is rough, have you tired looking in all parts of the country? Sometimes just getting your foot in the door is the thing to do, once there then maybe you can look around and move about?

I feel sorry, but not surprised. Thousands of Kiwis move to Oz for exactly the same reason, so this was expected. All the Best!

The sad truth is, New Zealand's renumeration is not competitive and this makes it hard for New Zealand to attract the best talents. I am kind of sorry to have given the potential employer hope that I may accept their offer. But after doing the sums carefully, the package (or lack of it) just doesn't work out. 50000 Kiwis left for Australia in 2012 and there is a good reason why.

Quote Originally Posted by Otaku View Post
    I feel sorry, but not surprised. Thousands of Kiwis move to Oz for exactly the same reason, so this was expected. All the Best!

If I have New Zealand residency only, I would have done exactly that.

I am holding on to Australia's PR and therefore I will get my foot in the door of a job in Australia and then work my way around/up. Going to New Zealand on an Australian PR is not such a good idea from the start.

Quote Originally Posted by Badvixen View Post
    sorry, that is rough, have you tired looking in all parts of the country? Sometimes just getting your foot in the door is the thing to do, once there then maybe you can look around and move about?

I am a Singaporean myself so I don't see why are you here trying to 'boast', that you have an Ozzie PR instead of a NZ PR. Have you nothing else to do?