Thread: Which City ? Auckland , Christchurch or Bay of Plenty?

Default Which City ? Auckland , Christchurch or Bay of Plenty?

My family and I are planning on making the move in July 2013. I am not quite sure which city we are moving initially. I am looking at the job prospects and area. Should I go Bay of Plenty, Auckland or Christchurch? I am a secondary school teacher, my husband is in construction and my children are aged 6 and 8. Forumites, I welcome your suggestions.

If your husband is in construction Christchurch will be the easiest place at the moment to find work, but this does not necessarily follow for you as a secondary school teacher. There is currently major rationalization going on in the schools and no one is quite sure where this will lead, though probably more noticeable at the primary level. It will also depend upon what subject(s) you teach and the demand for those.

Hi.I am totally biased. I love Bay of Plenty. Great climate and environment plus excellent schools. I hear that many of the construction projects that were put on hold when the economy went downhill are now underway. Nothing wrong g with the other places but if you want any further I formation, just ask. Cheers.Karen