Thread: Looking for space in a container for a motorbike from UK

Default Looking for space in a container for a motorbike from UK

HI. UK expat here, moved to NZ 7 yrs ago. I am looking at buying a motorbike back in the UK when i go back for a holiday in July. Is there anyone that would be prepared to have my put my bike( havent bought it yet) into their container and brought over to NZ?. This may sound dodgy, but totally genuine!!

Im a high school teacher in the Eastern bay of Plenty and starting to get into road racing here in New Zealand. Ive got a race bike lined up to buy in NZ but also looking to buy a cheap commuter bike from the UK and ship it over here if possible. Im doing a motorbike tour around Scotland when Im back in July and will be buying a bike for the tour. So, Ill try and see if I can ship it back to NZ.

Ill take care of all associated paperwork etc and help out in any way I can at this end regarding your move to this beautiful country

Fingers crossed!!

Clarky!

Sorry I can't help you with that clarkybear.

I am just wondering about bike prices in NZ, must be worth it to bring a bike over even though you'd have to pay VAT on it, seeing that you haven't owned it for 12 months?

I am curious as we are in the process of moving from Ireland and I am selling my bike here before moving. Not quite sure if I am going to buy one in NZ.

Hanna

Default Bike prices

Quote Originally Posted by Hanna MW View Post
    Sorry I can't help you with that clarkybear.

I am just wondering about bike prices in NZ, must be worth it to bring a bike over even though you'd have to pay VAT on it, seeing that you haven't owned it for 12 months?

I am curious as we are in the process of moving from Ireland and I am selling my bike here before moving. Not quite sure if I am going to buy one in NZ.

Hanna
    well as a comparison a few thigs to bear in mind