Thread: Residence visa application final decision coming soon

Default Residence visa application final decision coming soon

After a long time waiting, I should know the final decision on my residence visa sometime next week.

I'm feeling pretty anxious about the whole thing. Suffice it to say that things have not been going well for me over the past 7.5 months, and every time it seems like something good's about to happen… it's kind of like Lucy snatching the football away from Charlie Brown every time.

I sent off my EOI last September with 195 points. I was issued an ITA a month later. I have no criminal background, no medical issues, I'm only 35, I have a Masters degree, I've been employed in NZ for over a year, still with the same employer, and I have an offer of employment with another employer in the same field. My position and skills aren't on any of the shortage lists, but I'd consider it skilled employment for sure; not just anyone can walk in off the street and be a decent Web content writer/editor.

I personally don't see any way they'll carve off more than 55 points in my eval and take me below the 140 point threshold for selection… and at any rate, if they were going to do that, wouldn't they have done it at the EOI stage?

I'm basically just looking for reassurance at this point. I don't know how often people get to this stage of the process only to have their residency application denied, but I definitely don't want to be one of them. I'll stand to lose everything I have left if I can't stay here.