Thread: Rope Access Tech Supervisor requiring work visa

Default Rope Access Tech Supervisor requiring work visa

Hi Guy's,

I am currently looking at my options of living and working in New Zealand.

I am an Industrial Rope Access Tecnician L3 Supervisor, basically an abseiler that works whilst hanging off ropes or supervising others doing it. Along with this trade I am also a Tree Surgeon. I have a lot of experience carrying out maintenance works on high rise buildings, bridges etc and geotechnical stabilisation projects on the railway.

I lived and worked in New Zealand in 2002 as part of the working/holiday visa scheme, I was 27 at the time. I had an IRD number and paid my taxes.

I have emailed a few companies in NZ and they have all said they may be interested in employing me and that I should get in contact with them when I arrive. My only worry here is that it's a bit of a gamble as I may not get a work visa once I'm over there. It would be quite a sacrifice to me to give up my house, job, get rid of most of my stuff to head out there and then find that I've got to come back after 6 months.

Does anyone out there have any experience of travelling to NZ on a holiday visa then finding work and applying for a work visa?

The other thing is I would like to go out with my fiancee, she is relatively unskilled (in visa application terms! ). Will she be able to stay out with me? Or would she have to find a job that ticks the boxes and apply for a visa in the same way?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I can't tell you about prospects in your line of work, but there are many people who have got a job offer while on a visitor's visa. If you get an offer from an accredited employer, or your skills are rare enough that an employer is interested in you, and you meet the requirements for health and character, a work visa can follow quickly upon an offer. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra.../requirements/