Thread: Holding work visa under partnership but...

Unhappy Holding work visa under partnership but...

Hey, just want some help with the whole visa thing, it's driving me insane these days.
    So my partner is a New Zealand citizen, I am from Europe (not Britain). We've met on the internet about 2+ years ago, he visited me in my country for 3 months (as long as possible on a tourist visa). Now after a few months i'm in New Zealand, for 3 months and then applied for a work visa under partnership, got approved, available for a year. Now while in New Zealand, i figured out I am pregnant, have proof on that of course. It's been hard trying to get a job before, seems like it's not working because i have no experience now I can't work it's hard to do anything really these days... Will I get in trouble for that somehow?
    Our kid is going to be a New Zealand citizen, because it's going to be born here. Are there any options for me to stay in New Zealand? ANYHOW? It would be terrible if I would have to leave the baby to live only with his father! Please, any help?

No, you won't be in trouble with INZ. A work visa under partnership gives you PERMISSION to work - it doesn't mean that you HAVE to work.

As to what you need to do about a further visa, when you have proof that you have been living together for 12 months in all (not 12 months more from when you got your present visa), you would be eligible to apply for Residence under partnership. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...ly/default.htm

And by the way, congratulations on your new little Kiwi on his/her way!

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    No, you won't be in trouble with INZ. A work visa under partnership gives you PERMISSION to work - it doesn't mean that you HAVE to work.