Thread: Starting new business

Cool Starting new business

I apologize if I sound inexperienced but my knowledge on business structure isn't great.

I'm a computer science student and I've been creating apps/games/software/mods with the occasional help from of my classmates.
    No biggie, but we are currently working on something larger that we could eventually monetize.

I've been reading that it's best to start as a Sole Trader because it's easy with zero paper-work.

My questions are:
    1. Can I use a business name/brand/logo to conduct my business with, or is this only allowed once incorporated?
    2. Are there any tax / fees I should be aware of? Obviously it's going to start out small and I doubt the money coming in will be great. When should I start worrying about tax?
    3. Due to the nature of the business we estimate majority of our paying customers will be from places outside of NZ. Does this raise some further legal / tax issues that I should concern myself with?
    4. How often do I have to send financial reports to IRD?
    5. How do I go about "employing" a friend? Note that the starting money is dismal and they'll basically be working for free because they're mates. Whether i'm a sole trader or become incorporated, is this legal, or do I have to pay them minimum wage?

Looking for some advice from anyone with business knowledge/ experience.

Thanks

There are some useful/trustworthy websites among the hits here. http://www.google.co.uk/#output=sear...iw=818&bih=521

Thanks, I've actually read almost all of those.

I was just looking for some extra advice and solid answers to those questions because the aren't too clear on them. (especially questions 1,3,5)

Your business name can be anything relevant you choose (within common sense limits). If you are a sole trader you can just use your business name, though sometimes you need to include [your name] trading as [business name], (Trading As is sometimes abbreviated to T/A).