Thread: Dependent Child Visa

Default Dependent Child Visa

Hi all

Just wondering if anyone can offer some advice? My husband is a NZ Citizen (but unable to pass on his citizenship to our kids) and I'm a NZ Permanent Resident. We're moving back to NZ soon but our kids only have British Passports. We've been advised that once we're back in NZ we need to apply for Residency for the kids under the Dependent Child category. Does anyone know if I can put the kids (aged currently 7, 4 and 2) on the one application or must I do one each? Apparently we'll also have to apply for a Student Visa for each of them in order to get them into school asap once we've arrived (well, for the elder two initially).

One of my concerns is what happens if the 6 month Visitor Visa runs out while they're still considering the Residence Visa for the kids?

Any information or advice gratefully received.

Thanks

Does anyone know if I can put the kids (aged currently 7, 4 and 2) on the one application or must I do one each?
    You will need to do one each, as 'The principal applicant is the person who will be primarily assessed against the residence instructions. If this is you, you should fill in the application form.' A1 here. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/NR/rd.../0/INZ1002.pdf Obviously you will fill in the form and sign for each of them, as their parent, but each one is the principal applicant.

One of my concerns is what happens if the 6 month Visitor Visa runs out while they're still considering the Residence Visa for the kids?