Thread: Applying for PR with partner - not staying together for 12 months :(

Question Applying for PR with partner - not staying together for 12 months :(

Hello dear forum members!

My wife and I are planning to apply for PR next month and we had a few doubts/questions. We hope someone here could answer our questions.

A little background:
    I am a Doctor and my wife is a Dentist, we are both from India. We got married in July 2012 in India. In August 2012, my wife got a job in NZ and moved to NZ. I stayed back in India and came to NZ in April 2013 on a 'partnership work visa' and currently in NZ staying with my wife.
    We have been married for a year now but haven't stayed together for more than 3-4 months. Before we got married, we were in a relationship for almost 5 years which can be proved by photos, email conversations, trips together, etc. but never 'stayed together' since we were both pursuing our careers in different cities/countries.
    At the moment, we live together in NZ and have joint bank accounts, passports have spouse names on them, go on tours/trips together, etc.

I read that 'staying together' for at least 12 months seems to be pretty important in determining partnership status. Although we have been in a relationship for quite a while, we never had an opportunity to stay together until now!

My questions:
    -So we plan to apply for a PR as my wife has over 140 points. If I apply with her as a spouse, what are my chances of getting a PR?
    -If I don't get the PR, will I get the work visa instead? - i remember reading this somewhere
    -Will i have to apply for a PR separately later? or will my PR application be deferred for later?
    -If i don't get the PR, will my wife get one? Does my application with my wife affect her chances of getting a PR?

We really hope someone could help us with these questions.

Thank you!

Hello.

There are several things to show you here.