Thread: Palmerston North and surroundings

Default Palmerston North and surroundings

Hi there,

I've noticed there's not much about Palmy being asked/said in these forums.
    My OH has just accepted a position at the hospital there, and we're looking to move in November.

We're currently up in the bay of plenty, so it's hard to have a look around. Can anyone give us pointers on where to live?

We are thinking of the obvious city neighbourhoods, but don't really want cramped NZ city-life (we're living on a lifestyle block now and have kind of gotten used to the space).
    Anybody living in Palmy who could give us some hints?

How is living in Ashhurst? Too far? How about the housing market: Are there a lot more listings in summer than now?

Cheers,

Papu

Hi there,

I'm a doctor too and will be flying to NZ in January to start work in Palmerston North later the same month. I'm looking forward to seeing the replies to your post as my partner and I are in the same position.

Best wishes!

Quote Originally Posted by DirtBag View Post
    Hi there,

I'm a doctor too and will be flying to NZ in January to start work in Palmerston North later the same month. I'm looking forward to seeing the replies to your post as my partner and I are in the same position.

Best wishes!
    Great to hear - where will you be moving from?
    Yeah: No replies to this post: Just goes to show how much focus Palmerston North gets.... To be honest: We went to visit some weeks ago and it wasn't bad at all. A normal NZ town.
    We're heading down in 2 weeks to see some houses, a bit hard over the internet...

Cheers

Hi there Papu

This is a relatively recent thread on Palmerston North:

http://www.enz.org/forum/showthread.php?t=40375