Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Understanding EOI - qualifications and employment (future growth/ skills shortage)

Question Understanding EOI - qualifications and employment (future growth/ skills shortage)

I'm still wading through the EOI discussion on this (great) forum and the INZ website, so bear with me if these questions are answered (more generically) elsewhere.

---

How far back can one claim employment in a relevant future growth area?
    I was a Biomedical Equipment Technician some ~16 years ago (about 2 years worth of training/work). Could this be claimed on EOI under employment in FGA (for Biotechnology)?
    In the same vein, can I claim the course work as a FGA qualification? I have graduation certificate which lists hours of training plus a separate letter showing that I was an honor (yes, the American spelling) grad from the course. I think I have a Community College of the Air Force transcript which shows the same course work.

Secondly, I have a Masters of Engineering. Could I list this as a 'qualification in an area of absolute skills shortage', since it appears to qualify under Appendix 4 - LTSSL? SM16.20 states, "...they will be assessed as being qualified in an area of absolute skills shortage if they meet the specifications in Column 4 of the LTSSL"
    Reason I ask is that my Masters of Engineering is technically in Space Operations (~hybrid aerospace w/ hint of mechanical engineering - my description). However column 4 only lists "Master of Engineering", not a specific field.

I suppose I can "claim" whatever I want; whether or not it gets approved by NZQA is the relevant issue.

I'm just looking for opinions. I won't hold it against anyone if you venture an opinion.

Thanks

Alistair

Default found a little more info...

I probably should have read this link first. Good overview of the whole SMC process.

If only one of the three above questions is valid, I should be at 140 sans job offer; 130 without the above passing NZQA scrutiny.