Thread: ISSL- chances for residency

Default ISSL- chances for residency

Hi folks!!!

Hope you'll forgive me for skipping "introduction section",I'll do it here instead!

So, my name is Milan as you can guess from my nickname. 28 years old Croatian citizen. I been in NZ for 22 months now, and hope to stay here for a long term.
    Reason for starting this thread is that I'm becoming a little bit frustrated with all the informations about getting residency here, which are quite contradictory. Because I'm still not 2yrs on the job, I didn't get any professional help yet, nor immigration agent, nor shrink...

I work as a skydiving tandem master for a company on the south island. That job is on the ISSL.
    Just few months ago I got my 2nd work visa. First one was worth for 12 months, this new one is for 24 months. Next June it will be two years since I'm doing this and my EOI calculation is about 120 points.

Because NZ Skydiving School started to operate few years ago this job is not anymore on the LTSSL; no more easy residency. But fact is that most Kiwis after they gain some experience are going to work in Aussie, so quite large percent of tandem masters are foreigners. Its pretty easy to get work visa, but I don't want to be on a work visa forever.

Do you guys have any tips on this issue???
    Anyone had similar experience?

Cheers, M

Hello.

How sure are you about your 120 points? Because if you put in an EOI with 100 points or over and a skilled job/job offer, it will be immediately selected at the next draw.

And your job (452317 Other Sports Coach or Instructor) IS on the list of skilled occupations at the INZ Operational Manual Appendix 6, in section C. If you follow the link at the top of that list, it takes you to the regulations for exactly what can count as a skilled occupation. It's here. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/46411.htm