Thread: Partnership

Default Partnership

Hi everybody,

It's the first time that I come to this forum and I hope that somebody will be able to help me.

I came to nz with my partner in November 2010 with a working holiday visa, then my partner had the opportunity to have a "real" job here so we decided to stay. He got sponsored by his company and I applied for a partnership visa, which I was granted.

The thing is that I kind of want to break up with him but I'm afraid that he would call the immigration to inform them that I left... As my visa depends on his, I would have to leave New Zealand and I really don't want to.

I have a job here, and I've been working there for more than 2 years, my bosses want to keep me and are willing to help me get another visa. The problem is that it's "just" a waitress job so I don't think the immigration will let me stay...
    I don't know if it helps but I also give French lessons (being French myself) and I recently passed a diploma to be a teacher of French as a foreign language. But for now I only teach a few hours a week to individuals so nothing serious.

I'm a bit lost and I don't know what to do about the whole visa thing.
    Is there somebody here who can help me?
    Thanks in advance

Exactly what visa do you have? There's no such thing as a 'partnership visa' - there is a partner-sponsored temporary work visa, and there is partner sponsored Residence. Your situation will be different, depending which one you have.

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    Exactly what visa do you have? There's no such thing as a 'partnership visa' - there is a partner-sponsored temporary work visa, and there is partner sponsored Residence. Your situation will be different, depending which one you have.

Sorry I should have been more specific, We have a temporary work visa (granted for 5 years, until 2016)

I'm afraid from what you say that you're right, and INZ would not let you stay on the strength of the work you are doing.