Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: article on NZ housing bubble - more stringent lending?

Question article on NZ housing bubble - more stringent lending?

Interesting article from The Age on how new rules in New Zealand will tighten up lending by making loans with low deposit to high valuation much more difficult to get:

Facing a housing bubble? New Zealand may have the answer

New Zealand's [regulations] are taking the form of what bankers are calling a "10/80 rule," whereby only 10 percent of new mortgages underwritten can have to loan-to-valuation ratios of more than 80 percent.
    New Zealand is pushing the envelope by making penalties harsh: Banks will lose their licenses if they skirt lending rules that go into effect on October 1. That already has the industry policing itself. The New Zealand Herald reported last week that banks have "started tightening up their lending criteria" for fear of even approaching the upper limit of lending ceilings.
    I'm no financial expert, but I would think this would decrease demand and slowly (hopefully) deflate prices as it becomes more of a buyers market. Those with good finances could still get into the market. Less fortunate people might have to wait out the deflation, but might be well positioned (save more for a down payment?) when the prices are more in reach.

Would this really deflate prices, or just hold them flat?

Thoughts?

So far it has created a feeding frenzy at the bottom end of the market and here in Cambridge first home owner 3x1 homes have risen from low- mid 300s to high 300s and >400 and are often sold before even hitting the internet. Remains to be seen whether this will correct itself.

Quote Originally Posted by Kanga View Post
    ... and here in Cambridge ...
    Have I missed something here? Have you moved back to NZ Kanga?