Thread: Senior Software Engineer visa rejected

Default Senior Software Engineer visa rejected

Hi,

I am holding a bachelor degree in civil engineering and a master degree in software engineering. I have a job offer as senior software engineer in Auckland. My application for work visa under Long Term Skill Shortage was rejected because my bachelor degree was not IT related even though I have a master degree in software engineering. Has anyone encounter similar problem? What can I do now?

I am suggested that I may apply visa under Essential Skills category. What do you think.

can't say for sure because I'm not qualified But the criteria for meeting the LTSS requirements are very strict. I couldn't get bonus points for an SMC category visa for my 18 years' experience in IT because my Bachelors degree (Level 7 on NZ framework) wasn't in IT or Electrical Engineering (column 4 in the LTSS list iirc). If you haven't had your Masters degree assessed by the NZQA, I'm sure they'd question it / reject it.

I ended up applying for a Work to Residence visa by getting a job offer with an accredited employer. Much simpler / cheaper / less risky in the end - qualifications play less of an important role than for the LTSS or SMC category visas.