Thread: Skilled Migrant Visa on a Temp Position

Default Skilled Migrant Visa on a Temp Position

Hi Guys,

I have applied for a skilled migrant visa and my EOI has been selected just waiting for the case officer to get in touch with me. I have a total of 180 points. The only thing I am worried about is that my job is on a 6 month contract and it is coming to an end though I have just received a renewed contract from my employer for another 6 months.....I have a Level 9 qualification and my wife is also doing a level 9 that ends next month.... Just want to know if it is still possible that I get the residence permit even though I have a contractor position. I work in the ITC sector and because my employer is quite a big multinational they cannot give me anything in writing to say that this job would keep going indefinitely. the only thing they can provide me with is a letter stating my current role and contract end date....although my contract has already been renewed once.

Cheers Guys

Hi. So you have worked in Skilled Employment for which you meet the occupational qualifications and/or experience criteria for less than a year - you can still claim the 50 points. The fact that you have a new 6 month contract is a bonus. You would struggle to get a long work visa in this situation, but unless I have missed something, I cant see why it should have a detrimental effect on your SMC. Good luck! Karen

Quote Originally Posted by Karen Phillips View Post
    Hi. So you have worked in Skilled Employment for which you meet the occupational qualifications and/or experience criteria for less than a year - you can still claim the 50 points. The fact that you have a new 6 month contract is a bonus. You would struggle to get a long work visa in this situation, but unless I have missed something, I cant see why it should have a detrimental effect on your SMC. Good luck! Karen
    Hi karen,