Thread: new zealand nursing registration

Default new zealand nursing registration

Hi can anybody help me, I am a born kiwi, however, I have completed my nursing degree in the UK - I now want to work as a nurse back home in New Zealand, but will I still have to complete an IELTS test even though I am a kiwi and will I have to still have two years post registration experience? If anyone can advise I would be very grateful

..well I can't think of even the slightest reason why you would need an IELTS test, as English is your first language. I can't be definitive about the nursing experience so why not contact either the Nursing Council or the HR person at the nearest DHB to where you plan to settle? My guess, and it is that, is that because you won't need a visa, a less senior position that someone would usually occupy immediately after qualifying would be open to you as a kiwi. It will probably come down to whether or not the Nursing Council recognises the degree from your university. Hope that helps.

Awww Thank you Karen and thank you for the idea of writing to the DHB (I didn't think of that). I have written to the Nursing Council, i'm just waiting for a reply which seems to be taking an age. Please cross your fingers for me - I'm just hoping I don't have to.

Quote Originally Posted by Karen Phillips View Post
    ..well I can't think of even the slightest reason why you would need an IELTS test, as English is your first language.
    How about...
    International applicants from all countries (except Australia) are required to sit an English Language assessment before submitting an application. The assessment can be either the International English Language Testing (IELTS) Academic Test, or the Occupational English Test (OET).
    As far as the Nursing Council are concerned you are an international applicant if you are registered with an overseas authority.