Thread: Family visa for Postgraduate studdent

Default Family visa for Postgraduate studdent

Dear all

I am planning to follow postgraduate studies(area of absolute skill shortage) in NZ university for one academic year and known that I have to provide evidence of funds up front for the tuition fee + living expenses(NZ$15,000). Since I am a postgraduate student, my partner can apply for temporary work visa and child (age 9 years) can apply for student visa as a domestic student. I want to know how much funds should I provide for my partner and for the child to obtain their visa for a period of one year. Your valuable inputs are highly regarded.

Thanks
    Tissa

Hi. Your partner only needs $4200 as maintenance according to WF4.1 of the Operational Manual and can be granted a temporary Partnership-based Work Visa for the same duration as your student visa. I know the regulations relating to dependent children of student visa holders has changed over the last couple of years. I have just been through the manual and my reading of the section (U8.4.5) is that in order for your child to be classed as a domestic student in school, you would have to be on an approved exchange scheme or be on a PhD programme. I believe that your child will count as an international student and therefore you will have to pay fees and show $15,000 for maintenance. If you tell me where you read that your child would be a domestic student I would be very happy to check this out as I know this was the case when I worked in Higher Ed - but I think it has changed.

This seems to support that view. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/42649.htm

Thank you very much for you both Karen and JandM

I consider my child as a dependent child of a Work Visa holder(his mother) and follow that route.
    I have gone through the manual section (U3.35.5 Primary and secondary domestic students who require a student visa, interim visa with study conditions, or limited visa (d.)).