Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SMC questions

Default SMC questions

Hi Everyone,

I am brand new here, so a short introduction: originally from Germany, lived in South Africa and North America before, right now residing in the Netherlands.
    My wifey and I, are not to happy here and we are looking for a place to settle with our 1yr old son.

The SMC would be the only option for us, we would come up with something between 100 or max 135 points on the EOI. (we don't have a job offer in SMC)

Reading through this forum (which is great!) still got a couple of questions:
    1) identified areas of future grows is the Information Communications Technology: I worked most of my time for a very big online retailer, but not in the tech dept. but in sales. Does that count?

2) Long Term Skill Shortage List: my occupation is on there, but it also requires "Chartered Institute of Purchasing and Supply’s (CIPS) (Level 6) Graduate Diploma". Do I need to have that, in order to claim bonus points?

3) Skilled Work: I claim bonus points for the occupation right now: How is skilled work usually proven? I don't want to call them my boss right now, because I don't know if the move works out at all.

4) if you get an ITA and be granted a residence visa: do you have to go down to NZ in a given time, once it is granted? (I need to stay in the NL till around 12/2014 to finish a project at work and of course arrange everything)
    If yes, how fast do you have to go down?

5) I guess if I am granted, I would get the SMC Job Search visa with the 9 month deferral period: it says in the guide "family members are not automatically eligible for any temporary entry visas ". Anyone any experience with this? Or do they usually grant the family members who are included in my application.

6) Once you are in NZ on the SMC Job Search visa, you have to find skilled work for at least three months within these 9 months.