Thread: Lot of stuff happend, still in Europe, but wait two weeks!

Default Lot of stuff happend, still in Europe, but wait two weeks!

Hello,

after following this forum for half a year I think I should provide some experience to the community too. We thought about moving temporarily (For half a year) to NZ in December 2012 and this what happened until now:

Luckily a colleague of mine knows somebody in NZ who could be interested in hiring me. (I work in health care). That was the way the first contact was made with an employer.
    After sending some mails up and down with CV, documents and references, I actually got a job offer in April 2013, starting in December 2013 running for 8 months. This was more than I have asked for, so I renegotiated it down to 7 months. Notably they have not talked to me on the wphone the whole time, just mailing and they got the reference from my boss and a colleague.
    While I waited for an job offer I took the IELTS test as I knew this was a prerequisite to get a licence. It was good that I used some time preparing the test, you can not really fail, but if your marks are below the required knowledge level, you have to do it again (which cost extra money) but I made it in the first shot.

With the letter of offer we (my wife, 2 kids and me) applied for Visa at the London branch. I was in a good mood since I applied very early in the process, so I thought when there are be problems, I have plenty of time to fix it. We applied for a 8 months Visa, so no medical checks needed, I think that speed up the process. After one phone call (they changed the visitor Visa from my wife to working Visa) and 6 weeks waiting, we got our passports back in August with the Visa sticker. Yay! But I think the Visa were very expensive. Well, I see it as an investment in experience.
    Now there was no way back. We immediately booked the flights for the whole family and I informed my boss (she was informed the whole way and gave me a sabbatical).