Thread: Temp Work Visa based on Partnership - first travel timeframe shock

Default Temp Work Visa based on Partnership - first travel timeframe shock

Hello everyone,

I've been a bit stopped in my tracks by some posts here recently regarding time frame to travel to nz once a partnership based work visa is granted.

I was under the impression on applying for this visa (lodged November 12th) that I would have 12 months to travel to NZ under this type of visa, as nothing on the INZ site suggested otherwise.

I am a teacher, and I have to give minimum of a term's notice before leaving my job. With only a 3 month time frame to sort out my life (as paua's posts suggest) that's going to mean I simply can't do that without some kind of extension from INZ. If I get the visa in the next few weeks, I legally cannot leave my job until April. I had planned to head across in August, after I have seen my students through their exams and results. I did look on here, but obviously not hard enough it would seem.

My questions are:

- how do I stop myself from panicking hugely about this?
    - how do I get an extension on legal grounds from INZ if this is the case (I am the only teacher of one subject in my school and it is an exam year for these students, as well as the one terms notice thing)? Would I have to provide a contract and some kind of letter from my boss?
    - what is the likelihood of them doing this, or will I have to submit a whole new application?

My partner now flies back to nz on Monday for Xmas, so I will be sorting this out uk side by myself. Any and all support would be massively appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

You will just have to reapply for the visa again closer to your departure date.