Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Let's talk tea

Default Let's talk tea

Coming from America, were morning coffee is the norm, I would like to know more about how to do teatime.

What time do you do tea?
    What types of tea are acceptable?
    Do you make a pot or do you stick tea bags in each person's mug? Or do I have to use china?
    What does one eat with tea? Does it need to be sweet? Or does it need to be those little sandwiches with no crust and an unidentifiable substance inside?
    How is it done at an office, compared to at home on Sunday?
    Compare and contrast English teatime with Kiwi teatime.

Can you tell that I am a former school teacher?

Wow
    tigerlilly are you a virgo by any chance!!

I just stick a teabag in my mug and take it from there. I have to say the I have more than just one cuppa in a morning more like 3-4 taken anytime am not just at set times.

Jo

In our house 'teatime' is about 5.30 pm and not a 'pg tip' in sight, this is feeding time at the ZOO.

I have the kettle on at the drop of the hat for a cuppa, must admit I like to have a couple of dunky biccy's at the same time, probably why we go through so many. I make it in a cup if it's just for me but more than one and I do it in a teapot.
    We do use mugs, but I like mine in fine bone china mugs,it does taste better (these are my special ones they don't get given out to anyone else, bought for me by my boys!) My Grandma always used bone china cups and saucers though, and had maderia cake with a smearing of icing on top!!!!!!!!!!!!! YuMMMMMM

When we were in NZ, my tea-drinking OH couldn't find a decent brand of tea. She nearly gagged on Dilma's (sp?) product, which seemed de rigeur in the restaurants & supermarket. It made Farmer Brother's taste downright delish. I hope that something better shows up before we move there, or we'll have to bring in a few kilos of Republic of Tea's Earl Gray.