Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Was the move worth it?

Default Was the move worth it?

Hi forumites

I have been reading this forum for a number of years, going back to 2006 and well I'm finally going to be in a position to submit my EOI in 2014. I have been to NZ every year for the last 7 years so it's not like I don't know the country either so this isn't a blind move but visiting isn't the equivalent of living and working and this is where I'm having concerns.

First off, my biggest concern is money or more aptly put, what is going to happen to my career. I work in IT and I'm currently a development manager for a very large insurance company in Philadelphia. My annual salary is >$120k with a 36% bonus and 32 PTO days per year. Prior to this role I was an aVP for Barclays so I'm marching right up through the middle management chain. In fact, in my 19 year career I've never worked for a company that wasn't Fortune 200 or higher. My concern is that will I be able to sustain my career and what I've grown accustomed to salary-wise? I look at the salary calculators and while it would appear the opportunities are there, are they really? Also, because of my career experience, it would appear that I maybe limited to only Auckland and while that is fine, I would really like to move to Tauranga as that is favorite place in NZ.

Second is home prices and how do these lower salaries pay for massively overpriced homes? How does a country with an average salary of $60,000 sustain a housing market where the average price is $400,000? I wouldn't be able to afford a $400,000 home here in Philly on my current salary. Are mortgages done differently, ie is interest balanced over the course of the loan and not front-loaded like here in the US which allows for faster principal payoff which means homeowners are able to effectively flip houses faster? That's the only thing I can think of.