Thread: My strategy to move down under - Advice is welcome

Default My strategy to move down under - Advice is welcome

Hi all,

First post here, but I have been reading for the last few weeks.
    So... I am looking into moving to NZ!

My situation is pretty straight forward. 36, Italian citizenship, no kids, and lucky enough to have worked in future growth and absolute shortage jobs over the last 10 years in The Netherlands.
    My diploma and trading certifications must be verified by NZQA, as far as I could understand, This being successful, I should get 110 points on EOI.
    if NZQA does not certified, I will be far away from the 100 points and bye bye NZ...

In principle I would apply for an SMC as It would make me employer indipendent, so to speak. A work visa would be the obvious second choice.

Being an IT project manager myself I am very excited about the relocation projcet...

Now, my plan is the following:

1) Get my diploma and certifications certified by NZQA, so the lengthy process is out of the way,

2) Visit NZ, and specifically Auckland areas in March for a couple weeks to:
    a. get to know the city, identify areas I would want to leave, better understand how life works down there
    b. better understand the job market and possibly have a few interviews already, maybe with recruiters.

At this point I see two options:

1) Apply for en EOI as skilled migrant and than properly search for a job.
    2) Apply for a job in NZ and than request the visa. The idea here is that NZQA is done and a job offer would give me 5 points.The employer maybe keener on giving me the job knowing that the visa process should be faster.

I own my flat, though I could sell or rent out while in NZ. Got savings aside to cope with the transition 'turbulences"

How do you yous see this?

A couple of more questions:
    - Must all visa application be accompanied by a Health certificate?