Thread: Application for permanent resident visa problem with immigration

Default Application for permanent resident visa problem with immigration

Hello

I am wondering if someone had the same situation with me. So here is what happened in INZ office last Thursday. I am a resident visa holder and had lived in NZ for almost 5 years now. I went to the INZ Auckland branch to have my resident visa renewed because it has expired. I was advised in the enquiry booth to get an INZ 1175 form which is to grant me an indefinite resident visa -I will be travelling next week by the way and did not expect any problems with Immigration to come up during this application at all. So I did that, completed the forms and paid for everything, now when the time came for me to have the sticker placed on my new passport this woman on the counter started questioning me about the application form, in the area which I written my daughter as my immediate family. She started checking the form again and asking about the partnership details because I ticked never married/never in a civil union, which is true of course, some guy just got me pregnant. She insisted that I tick separated which I never did because I was never separated at all with some "partner". She started comparing my visa with my daughter's date of birth, I think she only saw the year or something because I gave birth to my daughter in december 2009 and my visa got approved in July 2009 and it was also around that time that I found out I was pregnant. I came to New Zealand after my visa got approved to be with my family and have their support while I was pregnant. Like some women, I did not show any signs of my pregnancy during the early stages and found out about the pregnancy too late. She made me get a statutory declaration and asked some personal questions about partnership, about my past pregnancy and other personal questions. I did what she asked but I've never felt so violated by someone in my life until this. I don't know