Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Silver Fern VISA

Default Silver Fern VISA

Hi Guys,

I have a Bachelors in commerce and PGDIT (Information Technology) from university of Mumbai.

I plan to apply a silver fern visa, I have 1 year work exp working as technical support.

1) Would I need additional work experience and does the work experience need to be post qualification?

2) How would I get my qualifications assessed?

3) Do I have to submit PGDIT and BCOM transcripts and certificates or only PGDIT would do?

Also would NZQA consider a PGDIT after BCOM (considering they are 2 different lines).

Hi. You only need a Level 7 degree, so I would use this as the qualification to be assessed not the Post Grad Dip. With a degree, there is no work experience requirement. You need at least a PAR by the time you apply, but, as has been said on the Forum before, they are not vey useful. However, in this situation, it really depends on whether or not you will apply for other visas if you are not successful at getting a Silver Fern visa. I am sure you are aware that there are only 300 of these each year and they go in minutes. If you will be applying to NZ for other visa types, it would be worth getting an IQA , but at a cost of $746, it would be a huge gamble if you were only going for Silver Fern, as the odds are quite low of being one of the first 300. If it's Silver Fern or nothing for you, I would pay for the PAR ($138) and then hope for the best and get an IQA if you are one of the lucky few. Here's a link to how you go about a PAR or IQA. http://www.nzqa.govt.nz/qualificatio...ualifications/. This year, there will be a new system for Silver Fern visas and it has not yet been announced. It is likely that the new system will not be in place for the usual date in late April. Keep an eye on the news section of the INZ website. I will post something when I find out the timing and new procedure. Good luck. Karen

Default Naveen Kumar YR

Hi Karen,