Thread: Apply for residency Vs. study PhD to residency.

Default Apply for residency Vs. study PhD to residency.

Hi everyone and thanks for any reply in advance,

I am from VietNam ( 26 years old) and have been in NewZealnd ( Dunedin) since 2007. I got all of my degrees from Otago university and recently achieved my Master degree in Microbiology.
    I am currently under graduate job search visa still November 2014 but get no job offer so far, and properly won't get anything soon.
    I got a clean criminal record with absolute no offenses to any law, perfect medical report and earning my own living expense by self-employed jobs ( property manager)

I have 3 questions:
    1. Should I just go ahead and apply for residency under skilled migrate catalog as I have a level 9 academic degrees and the point calculator suggest that I have 135 points
    Below are how I answer the questions.

Skilled Employment
    Are you now in ongoing skilled employment in New Zealand and have been so for 12 months or longer? No
    Are you now in ongoing skilled employment in New Zealand but that employment has been for less than 12 months? No
    Do you have an offer of skilled employment in New Zealand? No
    Is your work, or offer of employment, in any one of New Zealand's:
    identified future growth areas? No
    areas of absolute skills shortage? Yes
    Is your work or offer of employment for a location outside of Auckland in New Zealand? No
    Qualifications
    Do you have a recognised qualification? (level 7 or 8) Yes ( I have Bsc of Scince in Nz)
    Do you have a recognised qualification? (level 3,4,5,6) Yes ( I got Foundation degrees in Nz)
    Did you begin your study for level 3, 4, 5 or 6 recognised qualification on or before 24 July 2011? Yes
    Do you have a recognised level 9 or 10 post-graduate qualification (Master's Degree or Doctorate)? Yes
    Do you have a bachelor’s degree gained in New Zealand following at least two years of full time study? Yes