Thread: three questions(passport and work experience)

Default three questions(passport and work experience)

Hey all,

I'm planning to send my EOI for a resident visa one of these days, but have three things that I like to be sure of before I do so.

1. I have quite a few years work experience, but even without declaring my work experience in the EOI I am able to reach more than 140 points (including a job offer, my degree, age and degree of my partner). Do I still need to declare my years of work experience even though I don't seem to need the points to obtain the visa? I read that it would probably speed up my process if I didn't add points that aren't really necessary, but on the other hand, wouldn't it be strange to have a job offer in my skills category without declaring work experience?

2. My passport is bound to expire in a few months time, getting a new one right now will cost a lot of time. I rather use my current passport for the EOI and renew it after receiving the ITA. Would this cause problems? I know there is a restriction that the passport should be valid for at least another two years, so is this already the case when sending the EOI or only when getting the visa stamp.

3. After the ITA, do I need to send both my passport and a birth certificate as proof of identification or is only one of the sufficient?

I hope something can help me.
    thnx

1) First thing: if you put in an EOI including a job offer, you only need to have a minimum of 100 points. (It's 140 minimum that will be selected at the next draw without a job offer.)