Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: !!!!!!!!!Contraceptive Pills!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Unhappy !!!!!!!!!Contraceptive Pills!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, this is kind of annoying me: the internet is fairly useless!

So I have about 10 days left of my Cilest contraceptive pills, which i've discovered are made up of two active ingredients, enthinyl estradiol and norgestimate, which looks like ortho tri-cyclen (though i'm not sure if that's in the states??).

Anyway, firstly, nobody seems to have heard of Cilest.

Secondly, I apparently have to pay $50 for a prescription, and THEN whatever the cost of the pill is.

Nobody can give me the cost of the pill, because they have never heard of it.

Some people have told me to just go to an after hours clinic, get a prescription, and buy in the pharmacy.
    Others have said that since this is my first time getting the pill in NZ, I would be forced to visit a GP: fees for which are about $87, as i'm a non-resident.

What is the correct answer?

Here is the scenario:

A UK resident, staying in NZ on a WHV visa, wants Cilest (or equivalent) contraceptive pills, but cannot go during work hours (mon - fri, 7:30 - 5:30).

I'm in Lower Hutt.

Any help!??????

Feeling frustrated!!!!!!!!!!! (and VERY much missing the NHS free system ( )

Quote Originally Posted by neddrick98 View Post

So I have about 10 days left of my Cilest contraceptive pills, which i've discovered are made up of two active ingredients, enthinyl estradiol and norgestimate, which looks like ortho tri-cyclen (though i'm not sure if that's in the states??).

Secondly, I apparently have to pay $50 for a prescription, and THEN whatever the cost of the pill is.

Some people have told me to just go to an after hours clinic, get a prescription, and buy in the pharmacy.
    Others have said that since this is my first time getting the pill in NZ, I would be forced to visit a GP: fees for which are about $87, as i'm a non-resident.

Here is the scenario: