Thread: The "local experience" factor in Wellington

Default The "local experience" factor in Wellington

Hello! I am on the job market after arriving last year. I am a mid-career professional and running into the "no local experience" factor. On the advice of recruiters, I have taken local workshops and also have two volunteer roles in my field to get the local experience.

I am registered with seven recruiters in Wellington and have found them almost worthless. They all say they have nothing and one refused to work with me anymore after saying I don't have the "local experience" to put forward for a role.

I have worked all over the world and am doing well in my volunteer roles. In every place I've lived, I've at least gotten interviews.

There is a migrant settlement service in Wellington, but it seems to be more geared toward non-English speakers/refugees (correct me if I am wrong).

I would love to hear from folks in the Wellington area who can point me to more helpful recruiters or any advice. I am in media/communications advisor field.

What industry are you in?

Have you tried dropping to a lower level role in the field? I went in at a lower level but within a year was promoted.

What was your experience with approaching employers directly?

If you're on a resident visa, how about starting your own consulting company? Consider casting your net wider than just the NZ market.

Hi there,

Have you contacted the Chamber of Commerce? They have a scheme that helps skilled migrants find employment. I can find the contact details if you like?
    Are you on LinkedIn? It's used a lot here and so it's a good way to build your network.

Also how about coming and sharing with us on Wednesday https://www.facebook.com/events/302997363183824/

Wednesday, April 16, 11:30am

Wishbone, 1 The Terrace (Parliament end)

Need a mid-week break from work or job hunting?

Those of you in town next Wednesday why not join us for a catch-up?