Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electrical Registration Information

Default Electrical Registration Information

Hello,
    I am new to this forum. Let me briefly introduce myself, I am a an Electrical/Electronic Service Engineer repairing electrical and electronic equipment in the UK and I'm looking at moving to New Zealand with my wife and child.
    I notice that Electronic Equipment Tradesperson is on the ISSL and Electrician is on the LTSSL but I'm not totally sure about how to get electrical registration with the NZ EWRB.
    Does anyone have any information regarding electrical registration, is registration always required, which electrical trade licence do I apply for, would I be able to get a job as I need a job for more points.
    Finally, what experience and qualifications are the EWRB looking for when applying for registration, how much do they need to know? Is there a set format or template that can be used as a guide for stating experience and qualifications on the application form?
    Thank you for any information given

Techman

When you have made five posts on any thread, the forum will automatically switch on your ability to send and receive Private Messages, and then I'll be able to send you the example of stating your experience that others have used before you. I'm sure when NZ wakes up, people who know will be along to tell you the answers to your other questions.

Hello,

Thanks JandM.

Techman

Hi Techman

This page spells it out really clearly.
    http://www.ewrb.govt.nz/training-and...ualifications/

Depending on your UK qualification, you will probably not need to sit the theory exam, but will need a practical assessment of some kind and probably an examination about the regs (as they are in NZ) before you can fulfill the minimum terms for registration, you can be issued with a limited licence that allows you to work under supervision.

A $350 application fee includes assessment of your UK quals and tells you what else you need to do.