Thread: My case PeterG: from partner work visa to partner residence visa?

Default My case PeterG: from partner work visa to partner residence visa?

Hi guys,

I am a German living in Germany and want to move with my kiwi partner to New Zealand in October 2014 after my graduation (so in 5 months). In March 2013 we signed a contract for a room in a shared flat (Im still a student). She came for 1 week in March to bring a few things and sign the contract as she worked overseas at that time. Then in June 2013 she actually came to Germany and moved in. I suppose the 12 months start from the date of her flight? The flight details and the contract would be the earliest real proofs of starting to live together? (Shortly after, we also have a working contract, bank account opening, council registration)

Atm, I am preparing the application and would send it out at the date of her arrival last year (so exactly at the date we fulfill the 12 months requirement). This is why the 12 months start date is important.

I figured I would apply for the partnership-based temporary work visa rather than the partner residence visa, as 1) it is cheaper (still an issue as a student) 2) I would expect it to go through quicker than the partner residence visa application.
    2) is necesary as I would like to be able to apply for jobs as soon as possible (already in Germany) in order to start earning money in NZ as soon as possible.

I couldnt find much information about the streamline process from the temporary work visa to the residence visa. Is it possible? Is there a time limit I have to wait?
    I would like to apply for this as soon as possible so that my future employers do not have to worry that I have to leave after two years, also I would like to be able to include this information in my applications (i.e. allthough being on a 2yrs work visa I will be able to have residency work rights quickly).