Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My plan to move to NZ - Can you find any problems with it?

Lightbulb My plan to move to NZ - Can you find any problems with it?

Hi everyone,

for the last 3 months i have been reading a ton of the posts in this forum and they have helped a lot. Today I felt ready to really jump onto my NZ adventure and start asking questions.

I am a Portuguese girl currently living in the UK and I have a degree in a Future Growth area (Product Design). My partner is a British citizen with a degree in a different Future Growth area (Photography). Together we have enough points for the Skilled Migrant category but neither of us has a job offer and from what I read, if you don't have a job offer, there's not much hope to get a visa in this category.

My partner currently has a job in England so we have come up with the plan of me being the one focusing full time in finding a job in NZ and when that is guaranteed he will quit his current job.

I have moved form Portugal to England before and I know how hard it is to look for jobs online and apply through emails and phone calls. You need to actually be in the place to be able to be taken seriously and get a good chance of getting the position.

After reading many different posts and through visa options this is my plan:

Because Portugal isn't on the list of countries with an agreement to get a Holiday and Work Visa, the only option I can see is for me to get a Visitors Visa and walk up to companies to try and get a job.

If I do get an offer, hopefully I can apply from within NZ for a Skilled Migrant Visa and get my partner to come to NZ.

If it doesn't work, I would have visited NZ for 3 months and got to know a beautiful country!
    If immigration asks I will claim that I am going there to see if I like the country and that in the future I may think about moving there.

Problems I can see: