Thread: To include explanations about certain (financial comitment) issues in cover or separate letter? (Partner work visa)

Default To include explanations about certain (financial comitment) issues in cover or separate letter? (Partner work visa)

Hi Guys,

I am applying for the partner based work visa (aiming for 2 years) and I am quite certain we have enough resources for the evidence of relationship (tenancy agreement, official documents stating the adress, flight details, communication, hollidays, pictures etc.). We also do have a shared bank account, where we paid rent from (most of the time I transferred half of the rent to that account, not much more). However, we do not have any utility bills as we live in a subtenancy contract where the main rental pays bills to the according organisations. Also we do not have any bigger joint bills or other financially commitments.
    I am still a student and she works in part-time jobs, we both want to start our career in NZ, where these things would just begin to matter. We paid the bills for food on the go (whoever went to the supermarket). In general, for smaller things we payed in turns trying to keep it equally (but all easy going).

I have read that the financial aspect can be quite important too (besides the living together), but our life situations just did not allow for bigger bills/proofs.

My question is:
    Should we explain our situation in a separate letter? Or provide a few explanations in the cover letter about financial commitment issues?
    For instance, that utility bills are missing because of the subtenancy. Or her financial support during our travels. But how can you even proof these things? A simple bank withdrawal cant really proof she lent me money.

In general it would be useful for others if you could provide information about what you included in your cover letter and whether or not you did include explanatory notes for special issues (such as mine) within your application.