Thread: Essential Skills Work Visa Experience/Qualifications

Default Essential Skills Work Visa Experience/Qualifications

Hi, I've been visiting the site for the past several months as I've pursued a NZ job offer and found all your advice so incredibly helpful and encouraging. So...

I just received a job offer and am gathering all the documentation to submit with it as part of my Essential Skills Temporary Work permit. I have a couple of questions regarding the Work Experience/Qualifications section that I haven't been able to find exact answers to here. Any help much appreciated.

1) I, obviously, do not want my current employer to know about my job offer and NZ intentions until I have a visa in hand. Section E1 of the application asks for your current employment info and I just want to confirm that immigration will not be contacting them to verify my employment. I assume they won't, but can anybody verify this?

2) I work in marketing and, therefore, don't have any advanced degrees or anything that necessarily "qualify" me beyond my college BA degree. Wondering then the level of support documents I need. Will a copy of my college transcript suffice?

3) For an Essential Skills Temporary Work Visa, trying to figure out what level of previous employment supporting documents I need to include? Do you HAVE to include paystubs, etc? And, if so, going how far back in your career?

4) For reference letters from previous employers, do they have to come from your direct supervisors or can they be from other senior people in the firm?

5) Anybody have any examples of reference letters that support an Essential Skills claim or advice on what they should contain?

Apologies for the extra long post, just very excited and nervous and want to make sure I do this all right.

Once again, thank you in advance for any help and all the informative advice on the site.

Thanks!