Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jury Service as a Permanent resident

Default Jury Service as a Permanent resident

Hi, I am a NZ resident and have been summoned for Jury Service. I thought only citizens were legally obligated for Jury service and not PR's. So, is this a mistake by them? Or is it that PR's must serve on a jury too when called?

This link doesn't say anything about the immigration status -

http://www.justice.govt.nz/services/...ho-is-eligible

Thanks

The jurors are selected from the electoral role so if you are a resident then you can be selected, and yes you must serve when called unless of course you get excused.

Ian

All I can state is my own personal experience. I now have citizenship but was called for jury service before I got citizenship plus my neighbour has done jury service and still does not have citizenship so yes you can be called for Jury service on a permanent residency

As above, we have both been called for jury service as Permanent Residents. Twice in fact! You now have to do it, by giving dates you are available even if excused on first calling.
    Last edited by Carey; 17th August 2014 at 02:38 PM. Reason: Spelling

What a nuisance this is actually, permanent residents being summoned for jury service. Jury service, like voting, quintessentially is a prerogative and responsibility of citizenship and only citizens should be required to do this. In my opinion, this just undermines the value of citizenship in this country. Countries like USA, Australia etc only allow citizens to serve on a jury and do this for a reason...

I am just going to apply to be excused from this saying that I am not a citizen and when I applied for residency I wasn't told that I would be obliged for this.
    Last edited by dreammerchant; 18th August 2014 at 11:30 AM.