Thread: EOI, no qualifications but work experience

Default EOI, no qualifications but work experience

Hi Guys!!

Im thinking about sending my EOI online.

Im currently employed in a skilled migrant occupation(Web Developer), and my work visa application was approved a couple of months ago(July).

I have 2 years of related work experience in my home country, and 1 year of related work experience here in New Zealand (with different employers), but no qualifications.

When completing the form for the EOI I found this message:

"PLEASE NOTE: You cannot claim these bonus points for your work experience unless you meet the specific requirements laid out in columns three/four of the Long Term Skill Shortage List."
    I have checked the list and column three.four are pretty much all about qualifications, does this mean that despite my experience in the position and the fact that Im currently working in this position with a work Visa, I cannot claim points as Skilled migrant?

Cheers guys and thanks for the help

You will be able to count as a Skilled Migrant, but you can't claim bonus points under LTSSL without the qualification.

See the note on the Web Developer page http://skillshortages.immigration.go...web-developer/, that Web Developer counts as a Category A skilled job, for people with one of these sets of qualifications.
    Requirements to claim points for skilled employment (Category A)

A relevant recognised qualification which is at, or above, the qualification level on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework. The qualification must correspond to the skill level indicated for that occupation in the Australian New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO)

You will need to show a minimum of 100 points to get your EOI selected in due course, when you can show five years' relevant experience, and the fact that you're still in the job in NZ.
    OR
    The relevant work experience that the ANZSCO indicates may substitute the required qualification