Thread: Getting partner over from one of the high risk countries on IPG list...

Default Getting partner over from one of the high risk countries on IPG list...

Hi all...

My Husband is Ethiopian... and is in Ethiopia at the moment... I live and work full time in NZ.. I am a permanent resident (have been since 2010)... We are applying for him to come on a Partnership-Based Temporary Visa Application over this Christmas and also for the birth of our first child...(November 14)

His application was received in wellington on the 15th of August 2014.... He will also need to apply for a transit visa in Kenya which takes 4 weeks too... so all up we are looking at 5 months... which is way past Christmas and way past the birth as well... due to the nature of my job i will have to keep working as soon as possible after bub is born.... so i really need his help here... and he has managed to get leave from work over this period....

I suppose my main question is ... as long as the application documents are complete does immigration really keep to their word and deliver within 2 to 4 months like they say or
    Is this time frame unrealistic....?

Any experience sharing or advice would be highly appreciated....

Difficulty is that if a security check is involved, that process can be open ended. if there is previous travel to Western Counties that can cut down time period. Process Time can never be predicted or guaranteed.

Quote Originally Posted by ChrisMwn View Post
    Difficulty is that if a security check is involved, that process can be open ended. if there is previous travel to Western Counties that can cut down time period. Process Time can never be predicted or guaranteed.
    Thank you for the advice.... not sure how to go about dealing with the fact that open ended could mean anything from months to years.... Life goes on in the meantime... and having a little baby strapped to me at work is not really a good look...

Interesting times ahead I guess....