Thread: BS Physics degree under ICT group for SMC Application

Default BS Physics degree under ICT group for SMC Application

Hi everyone,
    I'm a bit confused and need your assistance here:

My degree is Bachelor of Science in Physics (from Philippines) but my work experiences are mostly with being a Business Analyst. I'm planning to apply residency under SMC (ICT, Electronic & Telecommunication group).

1. Since my course is definitely not in the list, does it ,mean that I cannot claim the 50 points?
    2. Given the same situation, will there be an issue if I apply under the Work to Residence Scheme instead? Or this scheme is more particular with the work experiences only?
    3. Do I still need to ask NZQA to assess my degree or it won't help?

Sorry for having too many questions. Thanks for your time in advance

Since my course is definitely not in the list, does it ,mean that I cannot claim the 50 points?
    There is nothing held to be wrong with a qualification that isn't on the exempt list - it just hasn't been checked over by NZQA and the results recorded. So your degree can still count if you need it to for this application, if you get it assessed. http://www.nzqa.govt.nz/qualificatio...ns-assessment/ (Don't bother with PAR - you need IQA anyway for the Invitation To Apply (ITA) - so it's a waste of money to do both.)

There's no 'issue' with a qualification that isn't on the list. The list is just those qualifications that NZQA has recorded results for. Any other qualification may be just as good, but you just have to give the details to NZQA so they can formally say so.

Thank you for explaining. May I just clarify, what's the difference between PAR & IQA? When do I use which?

See this old post. http://www.enz.org/forum/showthread.php?t=42324