Thread: Would insufficient salary affect my 2-year work visa (employer assisted)?

Default Would insufficient salary affect my 2-year work visa (employer assisted)?

Hello,

I have been working for the last 6 months with a company on a relevant role of my study in NZ. However, my pay rate is not quite up to the standards. As the company is a small enterprise, I am waiting for a pay rise for later. My concern is whether this will be a problem when they consider my application under post-study to work (employer assisted - 2 years).

How often do they check IRD details for granting work visa? Should I be worried about the situation, considering this case being NOT a work to residence visa?

Will a cover letter help ease the case? If yes, would you suggest the contents of it?

Awaiting responses!

Thank you!

If I have this right you are now on a two year post-study work visa. You must therefore have submitted an INZ1113 with offer letter and contract when you applied for this visa. Has your salary changed since then? If you got your current visa on the basis of a low-paid job, the fact that it is low paid now shouldn't make any difference. However, after two years, when appying for your next work visa or residence, INZ would expect you to have a wage close to or within the "normal" bands for that occupation and definitely above the minimum wage. If there is any doubt INZ will ask to look at your IRD records for the whole period.

My interpretation is that the OP is on a post-study visa (open) right now. I also don't think the principal applicant's pay matters as far as a post-study visa (employer assisted) is concerned.