Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help regarding Skilled Migrant Category

Default Need help regarding Skilled Migrant Category

Hi,

I got overall six band score in IELTS with L=5.50, R=6.00, S=5.50, W=6.00, should i apply for Skilled Migrant Category for PR or temporary work VISA, I have 8 years of experience in Information Technology. Please suggest me. Thanks.

Unless you can prove your knowledge of English in some other way, you won't be eligible for a Residence visa with these scores. Knowledge of English is a gateway requirement, by which I mean that, as with proof of character and health, the INZ officials can't grant a visa without them, however good everything else is about your application.

Here is the page of regulations. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/41495.htm You will see, IELTS is not the only way you can prove that you know English. If you were educated in English or you have been working in English, this may satisfy the CO. Otherwise, you will need to sit IELTS again, to get an average of 6.5 at least.

Thanks for your reply. I have done on campus Master Degree in Computer from India and working in BA Continuum nonbank subsidiary of Bank of America, will that work as proof. Please suggest as if I submitt EOI form online it aslo cost of 510$. Thanks.

Hi Pawan,

I have seen the cases where the candidate has completed territory qualifications as well as doctorate degree in English and has submitted papers in International journals in English language. These candidates do have experience working and living in English speaking countries but asked by CO to submit IELTS.

There may be positive cases which you may want to hear. So, it's more of discretion of CO combined with ur luck. If possible, try taking IELTS again, improve ur score and then submit EOI.

Please note this is my personal opinion. Senior members can advise better