Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am i eligible for Skilled Immigration because my Engineering degree in Metallurgy but work Experience in Telecom.

Default Am i eligible for Skilled Immigration because my Engineering degree in Metallurgy but work Experience in Telecom.

Dear Freinds,

I want to ask all of you guys that i have a engineering degree in Metallurgy Engineering but i am doing my job in Telecommunication for last 2 years, as far as i know to get the Work experience points your qualification should match with your profession but in my case it is different, My work experience falls in skill shortage list and future growth areas but my degree is not in telecom so if someone can guide me that i can be a succesfull candidate if i apply for skilled immigration. Many thanks for help really

Kind Regards,
    F.Khan

What is the nature of your job in telecommunications? Does it have anything at all to do with metallurgy, etc.?

Hi,

It has nothing to do with metallurgy or materials in my job, its all about Wireless Network and purely communications.

Then as things stand, you won't be able to apply directly for Residence under the SMC without a job offer - as you say yourself, the qualification and experience have to match.

However, looking here http://skillshortages.immigration.govt.nz/ and entering 'telecommunications', then following up several of the jobs there, they are saying that five years' experience can stand instead of a qualification. If you are able to take a recce trip to New Zealand and get a job offer, you can get round this 'hole' in your CV. (I think your situation may be similar to that of the member ChrisMwn is talking to on this thread http://www.enz.org/forum/showthread....026#post508026 - he would be the person to tell you in detail.)