Thread: Visa application submitted - Issue - Need help please

Default Visa application submitted - Issue - Need help please

Hi All,

Need some advice please. I have recently received a job offer from a reputed IT company in Auckland and applied for a work visa under "Long Term Skills Shortage List – Work to Residence Visa" as my occupation is under long term shortage skills. However, immigration officer says my Bachelor's qualification (Bachelor of Technology in Computer Science) does not exactly match with a degree in the qualifications list (http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/46052.htm). There is a Bachelor of Technology in information Technology in that list!!! grrrrrr...

Now the officer suggested I apply under Essential Skills visa category and that I request my employer to fill in page 4 of INZ1113 form and attach necessary evidence of advertising the job, etc etc. My employer has been kind enough to provide me that information however my employer says they do not have much data to support that i.e. they are not confident that Immigration will agree to the evidence supplied.

The other option would be to get my bachelor's degree evaluated by NZQA which is both time consuming (35 working days!!!!) and expensive (700$+) . I need advice from folks who have been in this situation earlier and/ or any valuable inputs/ suggestions/ recommendations. What can I do ?? Any time spent will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Ben

Sorry for your frustration.

However, INZ is the law of NZ. There's no way to a visa except by doing what they require. When they say jump, you say how high.

Also, the officials are working to exact guidelines, and they aren't given the discretion to be at all flexible, so, although your degree and the one on the list may sound as if they should be treated as the same, it's not the CO's fault that he can't.