Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bringing my gf from Japan to NZ

Red face Bringing my gf from Japan to NZ

Hi there.

I and my gf have been together for a couple of months but have been living separately as I live in NZ and she lives in Japan.

I suggested that she will live in NZ for 12 months on a working holiday visa so we can live together over the course of time. ^_^

Would we be able to apply for her parmanent residency at the end of her stay in NZ as a working holiday visa holder if I become a sponsor? I have been holding my permanent residence visa for about 2 years.

is this the best way to get her to move to NZ? are there alternative ways? She is 29. We thought introducing her to NZ on a working holiday visa was a good first step.

Thank you in advance.

That sounds like a good plan.

WHV is a very good way to start. Collect solid evidence that you are living in the same home from the very first day - if you can show two or three different pieces of evidence for each passing week, you will make life easier whenever you make your application.

You need 12 months' evidence to apply for partner-sponsored Residence http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...ly/default.htm. (Permanent Residence is a different visa, which she will be able to apply for after a minimum of two years as a Resident.)