Thread: Unclear about Working options - Graduate Concerns

Lightbulb Unclear about Working options - Graduate Concerns

Hello everyone,

I have some questions after reading some information on INZ website, hopefully you wouldn't mind helping me out.

1. Study to Work
    Currently I am a recent Bachelor graduate from Victoria University of Wellington, majoring in Finance and Accounting.
    As far as I have read on the site, they say that I can get one year Post-Study Work Visa (open) after my Student Visa expires. And while I am on that visa, if I find a job that is relevant to my qualification I can get Post-Study Work Visa (employer assisted) for up to 3 years.

My concern is that how do INZ identify a job to be relevant to my degree (Accounting and Finance)?
    Plus, do I have to leave NZ after the Post-Study Work Visa (Employer Assisted) expires? Or can I apply for Resident/PR Visa?
    If the later one happens, then another concern rises:

2. Work-to-Residence and SKC

A. WTR
    It does seem that my qualification in Accounting and Finance, plus no experience, will not fit in the Long Term Skill Shortage List.
    Thus, there seems to be only one option under WTR as they say on the site - accredited employers.
    However, I have heard quite a number of people have gained their WTR visa from other un-credited employers, like cafes, bakeries and such, and they were waiters/attendant.
    I wonder how they pull it off? Cause if I apply for a job to an un-credited employer but it's quite relevant to my degree, how can I apply for a WTR visa?

B. SKC
    I did a little research on the Skilled Occupations List, and apparently all Accounts Clerks or Accounts Assistants roles are not listed or qualified. As I do not have experience working in financial and accounting services, these are the ones that I more likely will be able to get.