Thread: Moved from UK to NZ - Now looking for work

Smile Moved from UK to NZ - Now looking for work

Hello,

I have just moved from the UK to Auckland in December 2014. I am now looking for work. I have registered with the Chamber of Commerce who provide a free 3 day course for new migrants who are looking for work. I am French citizen but for the last 10 years I have been living and working in the UK as an Administration (EA/PA). Although I did my University studies in France, I studied in UK with the Institute of administrative management and obtained a diploma in business and administrative management in 2013.

I have been looking into the possibility of having my qualifications converted to NZ equivalent. As this is quite an expensive process I was wondering if anyone had any advice with regards to this: is it worth doing? Will this have a huge positive impact on my chances in obtaining work? I have also considered doing a NZ diploma that corresponds to my work my work experience. I haven't made up my mind yet but would greatly appreciate advice from anyone who has been situation.

Many thanks in advance for your comment and input.

G

What is your visa situation? This may have a bearing on replies.

I had my French and UK qualifications verified by the NZ system so I have the NZ equivalent.
    I think it's useful, but I think it's your experience that get's you the job. Having the qualification ticks the box so you'll be considered for the position!

Have you spoken to a recruitment agency? I'd ask them. Or what's the advice from the Chamber of Commerce? Or other job services for migrants.

Hell,

Thank you for you replies. I have got a resident visa.