Thread: SMC advice please?

Default SMC advice please?

I'm very keen to emigrate to NZ. I'm from the UK, in my early 30s and with no surviving immediate family.

I'm in Christchurch and have one year of experience working as a painter. I'd hoped to get a work visa to stay longer but wasn't able to due to having less than 3 years of experience. This is my plan – to return to the UK, work for another year and 6-9 months as a painter then return to NZ using a Bunac working holiday visa as I will still be under 35. I would find painting work and apply for residency once I have the 3 years, allowing 6-9 months left on the working holiday visa for the residency application to go through as I gather it takes this long. Using the Skilled Migrant points calculator for where I will be then gives me a score of 150. Does this sound like a viable strategy? Any advice or things I should be aware of?

Once I have the 3 years experience to qualify as skilled could a NZ employer freely offer me an ongoing contract to get residency. Or do they have to advertise the job preferentially to existing NZ residents and only offer it to me if they can't find one? The latter would be disappointing as it'd make it a lot harder / less likely.

Since I will then have the 3 years of experience to count as skilled instead of the formal qualification asked for the ANZSCO page, then I can score SMC points for having a UK degree despite the subject area (philosophy) being unrelated to the painting work. Correct?

Once I get residency can I then go off and do other sorts of work entirely and still get Permanent Residency in two years more? The Permanent Residency requirements online don't mention having to work in the area you got the SMC for.