Thread: Working in NZ for an Indian Parent Company-SM7.1

Default Working in NZ for an Indian Parent Company-SM7.1

Hi ,

I've been working in NZ for the past for 21 Months as a skilled employee .My company back in India sent me here to work on a project .Since my project is nearly finishing I thought I’ll apply for permanent residency since I was getting enough points based on the fact that I've been employed in NZ for over a year.

My application has been sent back to me by NZ immigration saying that the points I was expecting for working in NZ will not be granted since my employment contract says that I have seconded to NZ from an Indian company and I am not a permanent employee here and this doesn't fulfil the conditions as per SM 7.1.(Screens shot of the response attached)

Although I have provided my NZ paylisps, IRD number NZ immigration still says they would need a new job offer letter which specifically states that I am permanent employee of a NZ company which my company has refused to provide.

The case officer said if I cannot get a letter ,I could try getting a new permanent job and they can process my PR further based on the new letter which is not really feasible as they have given me 1 few weeks to do this.

Has anyone come across this kind of issue before ? Is there a work around? Would really appreciate some guidance .

Thanks In Advance ,
    Rai
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by raikarthik85; 2nd March 2015 at 08:14 AM. Reason: Wrong attachment

Personally I can't see workaround with your current employer and have come across similar stories when employer isn't that cooperative when it comes to Permanent Residency as they stand a chance to lose an employee after they obtain independent visas. Also in your case as the CO has highlighted that your employment isn't permanent which is stated in the letter.