Thread: visa for child of phd student visa holder

Default visa for child of phd student visa holder

Hi

I am not sure what type of visa I should apply for my daughter (10) - visitor or student. Since I am a PhD student my child is eligible for domestic status in a NZ school but then she can only get admission once she is here with me so is it that I have to apply for a visitor visa first and then again apply for a student visa in NZ? The immigration website says that children of PhD students will need student visas to enrol as domestic students in schools but then a student visa needs an admission letter so confused here. Anyone who has done this can throw some light please.

Thanks

R

You can apply for a student visa http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...yinnewzealand/ for her, filling in the form as if she herself were doing it, but then signing on her behalf. She doesn't need a letter from the school - that part applies to people who are going into tertiary education. (See here http://www.enz.org/forum/showthread....608#post514608 this recent post from Karen Phillips, who is a Licensed Immigration Adviser.)

Thanks JandM

In similar situation, I wrote a cover letter for my child's student visa application to explain things. Everything went smoothly for us.

Thanks and I assume they will issue the visa for the same duration as mine. They only issued for one year for me so I assume they expect me to renew each year in NZ.

Yes, her visa will match yours for duration, and yes, you'll have to renew.

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    Yes, her visa will match yours for duration, and yes, you'll have to renew.