Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: National security check

Default National security check

Hi folks,

It's my first time to post a thread here and I would like to thank all members, especially JandM and Sun777, for all your detailed information and support. We have gone through a lot of posts on this forum while we were preparing our interview with the CO.

My husband is the principal applicant of the SMC Visa and we had a phone interview on 18/3/15. CO was assigned around end of Feb 15 and think that the whole application process is quite fast. However, we were just notified by the CO that the National Security Check is still pending and they need to await the NSC response before making a decision on our application. Could anyone pls advise if it is a must for every application to go through NSC? or just based on the background of the applicants?

Some more info, I was a staff of law enforcement office in Hong Kong. Therefore i put it down on the NSC form 1209 under the question "Have you been associated with any intelligence agency or group, or law enforcement agency?". Would it be the reason of conducting NSC? We understand that there's no timeframe for NSC but would appreciate if anyone having same experience could share a bit with us.

Many thanks again for your help.

Cheers,
    Samantha

Quote Originally Posted by saman_4800 View Post
    Some more info, I was a staff of law enforcement office in Hong Kong. Therefore i put it down on the NSC form 1209 under the question "Have you been associated with any intelligence agency or group, or law enforcement agency?". Would it be the reason of conducting NSC? We understand that there's no timeframe for NSC but would appreciate if anyone having same experience could share a bit with us.